Skip to product information
1 of 3


Parker, Graham - Howlin Wind

Parker, Graham - Howlin Wind

Regular price €6.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €6.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Vertigo 6360 129 made in Nederlands.

Vinyl EX. Cover VG+.

For most intents and purposes, Graham Parker emerged fully formed on his debut album, Howlin' Wind. Sounding like the bastard offspring of Mick Jagger and Van Morrison, Parker sneers his way through a set of stunningly literate pub rockers. Instead of blindly sticking to the traditions of rock & roll, Parker invigorates them with cynicism and anger, turning his songs into distinctively original works. "Back to Schooldays" may be reconstituted rockabilly, "White Honey" may recall Morrison's white R&B bounce, and "Howlin' Wind" is a cross of Van's more mystical moments and the Band, but the songs themselves are original and terrific. Similarly, producer Nick Lowe gives the album a tough, spare feeling, which makes Parker and the Rumour sound like one of the best bar bands you've ever heard.


A1 White Honey
A2 Nothin's Gonna Pull Us Apart
A3 Silly Thing
A4 Gypsy Blood
A5 Between You And Me
A6 Back To Schooldays
B1 Soul Shoes
B2 Lady Doctor
B3 You've Got To Be Kidding
B4 Howlin' Wind
B5 Not If It Pleases Me
B6 Don't Ask Me Questions

View full details