Skip to product information
1 of 3


Allen, Tony Hugh Masekela ‎– Rejoice

Allen, Tony Hugh Masekela ‎– Rejoice

Regular price €23.65 EUR
Regular price Sale price €23.65 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.



‘Rejoice’ is a very special collaboration between Tony Allen, the co-founder of Afrobeat, and Hugh Masekela, the master of South African jazz. Having first met in the 70s thanks to their respective close associations with Fela Kuti, the two world-renowned musicians talked for decades about making an afrobeat album together. When, in 2010, their touring schedules coincided in the UK, the moment presented itself and producer Nick Gold took the opportunity to record their encounter. The unfinished sessions, consisting of all original compositions by the pair, lay in archive until after Hugh passed away in 2018. With renewed resolution, Tony Allen and Nick Gold, with the blessing and participation of Hugh’s estate, unearthed the original tapes and finished recording the album in summer 2019 at the same London studio where the original sessions had taken place.


A1     Robbers Thugs & Muggers (O'Galajani)     
A2     Agbada Bougou     
A3     Coconut Jam     
A4     Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be The Same)     
B1     Slow Bones     
B2     Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony)     
B3     Obama Shuffle Strut Blues     
B4     We've Landed

C1 Robbers, Thugs And Muggers (O'Galajani) (Cool Cats Mix)
C2 Agbada Bougou (Cool Cats Mix)
C3 Coconut Jam (Cool Cats Mix)
C4 Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be The Same) (Cool Cats Mix)
D1 Slow Bones (Cool Cats Mix)
D2 Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony) (Cool Cats Mix)
D3 Obama Shuffle Strut Blues (Cool Cats Mix)
D4 We've Landed (Cool Cats Mix)


View full details