Skip to product information
1 of 1

Island Records

Black Uhuru - Sinsemilla

Black Uhuru - Sinsemilla

Regular price €14.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €14.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Island ILPS 9593 made in EEC. Vinyl EX. Cover EX.

Released on the Island Records subsidiary Mango in July 1980, Sinsemilla, named after a type of marijuana, was Black Uhuru's first album to be issued internationally, their third overall. Although the group was nominally a trio at this point -- consisting of Derrick "Duckie" Simpson, Michael Rose, and Sandra "Puma" Jones -- in effect, Sinsemilla was a solo album by Rose, who wrote all the songs and sang lead vocals. In addition to his writing and singing duties, Rose can be credited for bringing in the production team and rhythm section of Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare, whose Taxi Gang provides the distinctive musical tracks.


1. Happiness
2. World Is Africa
3. Push Push
4. There Is Fire
5. No Loafing (sit And Wonder)
6. Sinsemilla
7. Endurance
8. Vampire

View full details