Skip to product information
1 of 4


Chess - V/A

Chess - V/A

Regular price €6.70 EUR
Regular price Sale price €6.70 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Polar Records, POLYXL 2-600 made in Scandinavia. In gatefold cover and with original inner sleeve and big booklet.

Vinyl NM. Cover VG+.

Chess was the concept album written by Tim Rice and composed by Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus, and it was something you might have expected from the lyricist who brought you Jesus Christ Superstar and Evita and the musical team that wrote the songs and made up the male half of ABBA. That is to say, it had a meaty scenario and lots of catchy, eclectic pop music. But unlike Rice's earlier concept albums, this one was not based on an existing story to provide the lyricist with a plot. Instead, he drew upon existing U.S. and U.S.S.R.


A1 Merano 6:59
A2 The Russian And Molokov / Where I Want To Be 6:19
A3 Opening Ceremony 9:18
A4 Quartet (A Model Of Decorum And Tranquillity) 2:17
B1 The American And Florence / Nobody's Side 5:25
B2 Chess 5:44
B3 Mountain Duet 4:42
B4 Florence Quits 2:52
B5 Embassy Lament 1:30
B6 Anthem 3:05
C1 Bangkok / One Night In Bangkok 5:00
C2 Heaven Help My Heart 3:29
C3 Argument 1:51
C4 I Know Him So Well 4:15
C5 The Deal (No Deal) 3:54
C6 Pity The Child 5:31
D1 Endgame 10:46
D2 Epilogue: You And I / The Story Of Chess 10:

View full details