Skip to product information
1 of 3


Commitments - Vol. 2

Commitments - Vol. 2

Regular price €14.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €14.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


MCA 10506 made in Germany.

Vinyl VG+. Cover VG+.

 Alan Parker's 1991 film The Commitments - a warm-hearted comedy about a group of soul-loving Irish working musicians - turned into such a hit at the box office and on the music charts that it warranted a second soundtrack. And so, a few months after the first soundtrack The Commitments, Vol. 2 arrived, rounding up the handful of songs from the movie that didn't make the first volume, then adding seven new recordings by the same band, all '60s soul standards that could have easily fit in the film if there was only space. It is perhaps the purest definition of "more of the same" as can be had: despite the gap of time between the two sessions, there is nothing different or unexpected here, just classic R&B and soul performed with respect and competency. If you respond to the former, this can be fun; if you hear the latter, this is plain and forgettable.


1         Hard To Handle     2:23     
2         Grits Ain't Groceries     3:44     
3         I Thank You     3:40     
4         That's The Way Love Is     4:08     
5         Show Me     2:56     
 6         Saved     2:54     
7         Too Many Fish In The Sea     2:45     
8         Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)     2:52     
9         Land Of A Thousand Dances     3:16     
10         Nowhere To Run     3:39     
11         Bring It On Home To Me     3:41

View full details