Skip to product information
1 of 3


Costello, Elvis And The Attractions - Imperial Bedroom

Costello, Elvis And The Attractions - Imperial Bedroom

Regular price €9.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €9.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


F-Beat XXLP 17 made in EEC with lyric inner sleeve.

Vinyl EX. Cover VG+.

Having gotten country out of his system with Almost Blue, Elvis Costello returned to pop music with Imperial Bedroom -- and it was pop in the classic, Tin Pan Alley sense. Costello chose to hire Geoff Emerick, who engineered all of the Beatles' most ambitious records, to produce Imperial Bedroom, which indicates what it sounds like -- it's traditional pop with a post-Sgt. Pepper production. Essentially, the songs on Imperial Bedroom are an extension of Costello's jazz and pop infatuations on Trust. Costello's music is complex and intricate, yet it flows so smoothly, it's easy to miss the bitter, brutal lyrics. The interweaving layers of "Beyond Belief" and the whirlwind intro are the most overtly dark sounds on the record, with most of the album given over to the orchestrated, melancholy torch songs and pop singles.


A1 Beyond Belief 2:32
A2 Tears Before Bedtime 2:58
A3 Shabby Doll 4:43
A4 The Long Honeymoon 4:13
A5 Man Out Of Time 5:25
A6 Almost Blue 2:42
A7 ...And In Every Home 3:20
B1 The Loved Ones 2:47
B2 Human Hands 2:42
B3 Kid About It 2:41
B4 Little Savage 2:36
B5 Boy With A Problem 2:07
B6 Pidgin English 3:55
B7 You Little Fool 3:06
B8 Town Cryer 4:10

View full details