Skip to product information
1 of 2

Vampi soul

Davis, Melvin - Detroit Soul Ambassador.

Davis, Melvin - Detroit Soul Ambassador.

Regular price €17.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €17.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Taking a funk-driven approach to modern jazz, Melvin Davis has grown into one of the most highly-demanded session bass players. He toured with O'Bryan from 1980 until 1987, the Pointer Sisters from 1985 until 1993, Chaka Kahn from 1989 until 1997, the David Benoit and Russ Freeman project in 1994, Bryan Ferry in 1994 and 1995, Lee Ritenour from 1990 until 1997, George Duke in 1996 and the Simon Phillips Band in 2000. His discography includes appearances on albums by Ritenour, Will Downing, Diane Schuur, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Larry Carlton, Patti Austin and Gladys Knight And The Pips. On his own, Davis has recorded jingles for McDonald's and Coca Cola, written theme songs for television shows, Party Machine and Soul Train's a'Coming and has recorded two impressive solo albums.


  • 01 Melvin Davis About Love
  • 02 Melvin Davis I Don't Want You
  • 03 Melvin Davis Playboy (don't You Play In School)
  • 04 Melvin Davis I Won't Be Your Fool
  • 05 Melvin Davis It's No News
  • 06 Melvin Davis Wedding Bells
  • 07 Melvin Davis Find A Quiet Place (and Be Lonely)
  • 08 Melvin Davis This Ain't The Way
  • 09 Melvin Davis I Must Love You
  • 10 Melvin Davis Still In My Heart
  • 11 Melvin Davis Chains Of Love
  • 12 Melvin Davis I'm The One Who Loves You
  • 13 Melvin Davis I Need My Baby
  • 14 Melvin Davis I Won't Love You And Leave You
View full details