Skip to product information
1 of 1

Jealous Butcher

Decemberists - Her Majesty

Decemberists - Her Majesty

Regular price €21.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €21.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


On Her Majesty, the Decemberists' follow-up to their excellent debut, Castaways and Cutouts, the group cements its reputation as a seafaring Belle & Sebastian or a more grounded Neutral Milk Hotel. Tying together sweet symphonic pop with a ragtag theatricality, this album is more ambitious and more scattered than Castaways and Cutouts, making it an initially less accessible and more difficult listen. However, many of Her Majesty's most indulgent moments are among its best, including the high drama of the album opener, "Shanty for the Aretheusa," an epic that runs with the dark beauty that haunted the corners of the Decemberists' debut and gives it a wild, rambling edge.


1. Shanty For The Arethusa (5:37)
2. Billy Liar (4:08)
3. Los Angeles, I'm Yours (4:17)
4. The Gymnast, High Above The Ground (7:13)
5. The Bachelor And The Bride (4:13)
6. Song For Myla Goldberg (3:33)
7. The Soldiering Life (3:48)
8. Red Right Ankle (3:29)
9. The Chimbley Sweep (2:53)
10. I Was Meant For The Stage (7:02)
11. As I Rise (2:14)

View full details