Skip to product information
1 of 2


Gaye, Marvin - I Want You

Gaye, Marvin - I Want You

Regular price €7.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €7.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Tamla motown 062-97573 made in Holland.

Vinyl EX. Cover EX.

I Want You, while it was a Top Ten smash for Marvin Gaye in 1976, is not as generally well-known as its predecessors for a number of reasons. First, it marked a sharp change in direction, leaving his trademark Motown soul for lush, funky, light disco. Secondly, its subject matter is as close to explicit as pop records got in 1976. Third, Gaye hadn't recorded in nearly three years and critics were onto something else -- exactly what is now anybody's guess. From the amazing Ernie Barnes cover painting "Back to Sugar Shack" to the Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson string and horn arrangements to Leon Ware's exotic production that relied on keyboards as well as drums and basses as rhythm instruments, I Want You was a giant leap for Gaye.


  • A1)   I Want You (Vocal)
  • A2)   Come Live With Me Angel
  • A3)   After The Dance (Instrumental)
  • A4)   Feel All My Love Inside
  • A5)   I Wanna Be Where You Are
  • B1)   I Want You (Intro Jam)
  • B2)   All The Way Around
  • B3)   Since I Had You
  • B4)   Soon I'll Be Loving You Again
  • B5)   I Want You (Intro Jam)
  • B6)   After The Dance (Vocal)





View full details