Skip to product information
1 of 4


Jam - This Is The Modern World

Jam - This Is The Modern World

Regular price €12.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €12.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Polydor 2383 475 made in England with lyric inner sleeve.

Vinyl VG. Cover VG.

This Is the Modern World is the second studio album by British band The Jam, released in November 1977, less than seven months after their debut. Despite some contemporary reviewers feeling the record was rushed to capitalise on the success of In the City, the Record Mirror's Barry Cain wrote that "This Is The Modern World reflects a definite PROGRESSION (remember that?) a definite identity mould. Here Weller is making an obvious attempt at creating a Jam SOUND. He succeeds. Brilliantly". Likewise, Chas de Wally, from Sounds, claimed that although "people were trying to tell me that this was a lousy album and The Jam were all washed up, This is the Modern World is one of the best albums I've ever heard in a long time". 


Side 1.

1. "The Modern World"
2. "London Traffic" (Bruce Foxton)
3. "Standards"
4. "Life from a Window"
5. "The Combine"
6. "Don't Tell Them You're Sane" (Bruce Foxton)

Side 2.

1. "In the Street Today" (Paul Weller, Dave Waller)
2. "London Girl"
3. "I Need You (For Someone)"
4. "Here Comes the Weekend"
5. "Tonight at Noon"
6. "In the Midnight Hour" (Steve Cropper, Wilson Pickett)

View full details