Skip to product information
1 of 1


Cash, Johnny - Complete Mercury Albums 1986-1991

Cash, Johnny - Complete Mercury Albums 1986-1991

Regular price €118.40 EUR
Regular price Sale price €118.40 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.



In 1986, after almost 30 years on Columbia Records, Country music legend Johnny Cash released his first album on Mercury Records – Class Of ’55, in collaboration with fellow Sun Records alumni Roy Orbison, Jerry Lee Lewis and Carl Perkins. Seven years later, his last recording before signing with Rick Rubin’s American Recordings would be another collaboration, “The Wanderer”, with U2. In the years that span those recordings, Johnny Cash released a total of six albums for Mercury. Despite significant focus and attention around his Columbia and American recordings, his Mercury catalogue has never been revisited… until now. UMe / Mercury Records are proud to announce that April 2020 will see the release of Johnny Cash: The Complete Mercury Studio Albums (1986-1991) –a 7LP boxed set featuring newly remastered audio for the very first time, using the original Mercury master tapes. Notably, the album Classic Cash: Hall Of Fame Series is presented in a 2LP format for the very first time. All the LPs are pressed on 180g vinyl for the highest quality audio fidelity and the box includes a MP3 download voucher. With brand new liner notes by music writer Scott Schinder, Johnny Cash: The Complete Mercury Studio Recordings (1986-1991) represents the very first deep dive into the Country music legend’s Mercury catalogue, and reveals its importance as the bridge between his better known catalogues on Columbia and American.


LP1 - Side A: Carl Perkins / Jerry Lee Lewis / Roy Orbison / Johnny Cash - Class Of '55: Memphis Rock & Roll Homecoming (1986)
1     Birth Of Rock And Roll     
2     Sixteen Candles     
3     Class Of '55     
4     Waymore’s Blues     
5     We Remember The King     
Side B:
1     Coming Home     
2     Rock And Roll (Fais-Do-Do)     
3     Keep My Motor Running     
4     I Will Rock And Roll With You     
5     Big Train (From Memphis)     
LP2 - Side A: Johnny Cash Is Coming To Town (1987)
1     The Big Light     
2     The Ballad Of Barbara     
3     I'd Rather Have You     
4     Let Him Roll     
5     The Night Hank Williams Came To Town     
Side B:
1     Sixteen Tons     
2     Letters From Home     
3     W. Lee O'Daniel (And The Light Crust Dough Boys)     
4     Heavy Metal (Don't Mean Rock And Roll To Me)     
5     My Ship Will Sail     

LP3 - Side A: Water From The Wells Of Home (1988)
1     Ballad Of A Teenage Queen (With Roseanne Cash & The Everly Brothers)     
2     As Long As I Live (With Emmylou Harris)     
3     Where Did We Go Right (With June Carter Cash and The Carter Family)     
4     The Last Of The Drifters (With Tom T. Hall)     
5     Call Me The Breeze (With John Carter Cash)     
Side B:
1     That Old Wheel (With Hank Williams, Jr.)     
2     Sweeter Than The Flowers (With Waylon Jennings)     
3     A Croft In Clachan (The Ballad Of Rob MacDunn) (With Glen Campbell)     
4     New Moon Over Jamaica (With Paul McCartney)     
5     Water From The Wells Of Home (With John Carter Cash)     
LP4 - Side A: Classic Cash: Hall Of Fame Series (1988)
1     Get Rhythm     
2     Tennessee Flat Top Box     
3     Long Black Veil     
4     A Thing Called Love     
5     I Still Miss Someone
Side B:
1     Cry, Cry, Cry     
2     Blue Train     
3     Sunday Morning Coming Down     
4     Five Feet High And Rising     
5     Peace In The Valley     

LP5 - Side A: Classic Cash: Hall Of Fame Series (1988)
1     Don't Take Your Guns To Town     
2     Home Of The Blues     
3     Guess Things Happen That Way     
4     I Got Stripes     
5     I Walk The Line     

Side B:
1     Ring Of Fire     
2     Ballad Of Ira Hayes     
3     The Ways Of A Woman In Love     
4     Folsom Prison Blues     
5     Supper Time     
LP6 - Side A: Boom Chicka Boom (1990)
1     A Backstage Pass     
2     Cat's In The Cradle     
3     Farmer's Almanac     
4     Don't Go Near The Water     
5     Family Bible     

Side B:
1     Harley     
2     I Love You, Love You     
3     Hidden Shame     
4     Monteagle Mountain     
5     That's One You Owe Me
LP7 - Side A: The Mystery Of Life (1991)
1     The Greatest Cowboy Of Them All     
2     I'm An Easy Rider     
3     The Mystery Of Life     
4     Hey Porter     
5     Beans For Breakfast     

Side B:
1     Goin' By The Book     
2     Wanted Man     
3     I'll Go Somewhere And Sing My Songs Again (with Tom T. Hall)     
4     The Hobo Song     
5     Angel And The Badman     

View full details