Skip to product information
1 of 3


Local Hero - OST

Local Hero - OST

Regular price €5.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €5.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Vertigo 811 038 made in Holland.

Vinyl EX. Cover VG+.

Dire Straits leader Mark Knopfler's intricate, introspective fingerpicked guitar stylings make a perfect musical complement to the wistful tone of Bill Forsyth's comedy film, Local Hero. This album was billed as a Knopfler solo album rather than an original soundtrack album, with the notation "music...for the film." Knopfler brings along Dire Straits associates Alan Clark (keyboards) and John Illsley (bass), plus session aces like saxophonist Mike Brecker, vibes player Mike Mainieri, and drummers Steve Jordan and Terry Williams.


Side one
1.  The Rocks and the Water   (3:30)
2.  Wild Theme   (3:40)
3.  Freeway Flyer   (1:50)
4.  Boomtown (Variation Louis’ Favourite)   (4:10)
5.  The Way It Always Starts (sung by Gerry Rafferty)   (4:08)
6.  The Rocks and the Thunder   (0:40)
7.  The Ceilidh and the Northern Lights   (4:07)

Side two
1.  The Mist Covered Mountains   (5:13)
2.  The Ceilidh: Louis’ Favourite/Billy’s Tune   (3:42)
3.  Whistle Theme   (0:51)
4.  Smooching   (5:05)
5.  Stargazer   (1:31)
6.  The Rocks and the Thunder   (0:40)
7.  Going Home: Theme of the Local Hero   (4:55)

View full details