Skip to product information
1 of 2

Vinyl Lovers

Modern Lovers - 96 Tears

Modern Lovers - 96 Tears

Regular price €16.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €16.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


The Modern Lovers were an American rock band led by Jonathan Richman in the 1970s and 1980s.  The original band, billed simply as “The Modern Lovers”, existed from 1970–74 but their recordings were not released until 1976 or later. It featured Jonathan Richman and bassist Ernie Brooks with drummer David Robinson (later of The Cars) and keyboardist Jerry Harrison (later of Talking Heads). The sound of the band owed a great deal to the influence of The Velvet Underground, and is now considered one of the leading bands of the “proto-punk” scene. It pointed the way towards much of the Punk, New Wave and Indie rock music of later decades. Their only album, the eponymous The Modern Lovers, contained stylistically unprecedented songs about dating awkwardness, growing up in Massachusetts, and love of life and the USA.


A1         Modern World         
A2         96 Tears         
A3         A Plea For Tenderness         
A4         Old World         

B1         Walk Up The Street         
B2         I'm Straight         
B3         Wake Up Sleepyheads         
B4         Don't Let Our Youth Go To Waste         
B5         Roadrunner

View full details