Skip to product information
1 of 4

Real Records

Pretenders - Pretenders

Pretenders - Pretenders

Regular price €5.25 EUR
Regular price Sale price €5.25 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Real RAL3 made in Sweden with picture inner sleeve.

Vinyl VG. Cover VG+.

Over the years, the Pretenders became a vehicle for guitarist/vocalist Chrissie Hynde's songwriting, yet it was a full-fledged band when it was formed in the late '70s. With their initial records, the group crossed the bridge between punk/new wave and Top 40 pop more than any other band, recording a series of hard, spiky singles that were also melodic and immediately accessible. Hynde was an invigorating, sexy singer who bent the traditional male roles of rock & roll to her own liking, while guitarist James Honeyman-Scott created a sonic palette filled with suspended chords, effects pedals, and syncopated rhythms that proved remarkably influential over the next two decades. After Honeyman-Scott's death, the Pretenders became a more straightforward rock band, yet Hynde's semi-autobiographical songwriting and bracing determination meant that the group never became just another rock band, even when their music became smoother and more pop-oriented.


Side One:

  1. "Precious" - 3:36
  2. "The Phone Call" - 2:29
  3. "Up the Neck" - 4:27
  4. "Tattooed Love Boys" - 2:59
  5. "Space Invader" (Pete Farndon, James Honeyman-Scott) - 3:26
  6. "The Wait" (Hynde, Farndon) - 3:35
  7. "Stop Your Sobbing" (Ray Davies) - 2:38 (produced by Nick Lowe)

Side Two:

  1. "Kid" - 3:06
  2. "Private Life" - 6:25
  3. "Brass in Pocket" (Honeyman-Scott, Hynde) - 3:04
  4. "Lovers of Today" - 5:51
  5. "Mystery Achievement" - 5:23


View full details