Skip to product information
1 of 1


Van Zandt, Townes - The Late Great

Van Zandt, Townes - The Late Great

Regular price €19.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €19.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


This is the second perfect album Van Zandt cut in 1972, a complement to High, Low and in Between. Together they contain the highest points of his brilliant but erratic career. The Late Great may be a bit stronger, with classics like "Pancho & Lefty," "No Lonesome Tune," and "If I Needed You," but there's not a weak track here. Van Zandt's voice is in top shape, the song selection is superb, and Jack Clement's understated production gives the tunes a timeless quality. He eschews the hokey touches that make parts of Our Mother the Mountain sound corny, opting for a subdued sound that uses light touches of folk, pop, and country music in their arrangements.


1. No lonesome Tune
2. Sad Cinderella
3. German Mustard
4. Don't Let the Sunshine Fool Ya
5. Honky Tonkin'
6. Snow Don't Fall
7. Fraulein
8. Poncho & Lefty
9. If I Needed You
10. Silver Ships Of Andilar
11. Heavenly Houseboat Blues

View full details