Skip to product information
1 of 1


Campbell, John - Howlin Mercy

Campbell, John - Howlin Mercy

Regular price €49.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €49.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Elektra 755961440 made in Germany.

Vinyl EX. Cover EX.

Slide guitarist and songwriter John Campbell was a man driven. Before his untimely death, he had pulled out all the stops to play a music that was full of mystery, pathos, dark energy, and plenty of rock & roll strut 'n' growl; it could be frightening in its intensity. Howlin' Mercy was the last of two recordings for Elektra, and is by far the heavier of the two. As displayed by its opening track, "Ain't Afraid of Midnight," Campbell was a considerable slide guitarist who owed his skill to the bluesmen like Lightnin' Hopkins (from his home state of Texas), Fred McDowell, and a few others. His solos are wrangling, loose, and shambolic; they are undeniably dark and heavy.


01 Ain't Afraid of Midnight  

02 When the Levee Breaks  

03 Down in the Hole  

04 Look What Love Can Do  

05 Saddle Up My Pony  

06 Firin' Line  

07 Love's Name  

08 Written in Stone  

09 Wiseblood  

10 Wolf Among the Lambs


View full details