Skip to product information
1 of 3

Smash Records

Jett, Joan & The Blackhearts - Album

Jett, Joan & The Blackhearts - Album

Regular price €7.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €7.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Smash SLEPT 16 made in Scandinavia.

Vinyl NM. Cover VG+.

By playing pure and simple rock & roll without making an explicit issue of her gender, Joan Jett became a figurehead for several generations of female rockers. Jett's brand of rock & roll is loud and stripped-down, yet with overpowering hooks -- a combination of the Stones' tough, sinewy image and beat, AC/DC chords, and glam rock hooks. As the numerous covers she has recorded show, she adheres both to rock tradition and breaks with it -- she plays classic three-chord rock & roll, yet she also loves the trashy elements (in particular, Gary Glitter) of it as well, and she plays with a defiant sneer. From her first band, the Runaways, through her hit-making days in the '80s with the Blackhearts right until her unexpected revival in the '90s, she hasn't changed her music, yet she's kept her quality control high, making one classic single ("I Love Rock 'n Roll") along the way.


1. Fake Friends
2. Handyman
3. Everyday People
4. A Hundred Feet Away
5. Secret Love
6. The French Song
7. Tossin' And Turnin'
8. Why Can't We Be Happy
9. I Love Playin' With Fire
10. Coney Island Whitefish
11. Had Enough

View full details