Skip to product information
1 of 4

reprise records

Lowe, Nick - Party For One

Lowe, Nick - Party For One

Regular price €9.95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €9.95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Reprise 7599-26132 made in Germany with lyric inner sleeve.

Vinyl NM. Cover EX.

Nick Lowe settled a long-standing feud with Dave Edmunds with Party of One, hiring his former Rockpile mate to produce the album. Edmunds gives Lowe a sharper sound than before, keeping a tight reign on the performances and the songs -- for the first time, there are no covers on a Nick Lowe album. Theoretically, that wouldn't be a problem, but Lowe was in a songwriting slump at the time of Party of One. "All Men Are Liars," with its weird jab at dance-pop idol Rick Astley, is symptomatic of the record's flaws -- ingratiating melodies are undercut by forced humor and bland support. Even the best moments -- "(I Want to Build A) Jumbo Ark," "What's Shakin' on the Hill," "I Don't Know Why You Keep Me On" -- are undercut by stiff, colorless performances.


1. You Got The Look I Like
2. (i Want To Build A) Jumbo Ark
3. Gai-gin Man
4. Who Was That Man?
5. What's Shakin' On The Hill
6. Shting-shtang
7. All Men Are Liars
8. Rocky Road
9. Refrigerator White
10. I Don't Know Why You Keep Me On
11. Honeygun

View full details